Tuesday, 19 March 2013

Websites for PPA Cover

I've had great fun working with some of our wonderful classroom assistants. We've managed to cover a lot of information in just two sessions.
For example:
  • Don’t be afraid of the IWB!  It’s a great tool and perfect for PPA time!
  • You may need to orient the board before use so that links work when you touch them.
  • For easy access, make yourself a file under “Favourites” on the classroom computer that is connected to the IWB. 
  • So that you don’t get “lost”, you may want to get a note pad and jot down “routes” to access specific videos/activities on a site.
  • Some sites may need free registration and password.
  • ALWAYS check content before use.
  • Keep Calm and Computer On.
Below is a list of some websites that we've enjoyed exploring.

Espresso is on our school desk top. You can also add it to your “Favourites” file.
·        News
·        Story videos – FS> Literacy> Rat-a-tat-tat
·     Lots of great videos and activities for all curriculum areas- if you can’t      find what you need, use the SEARCH box!

ARKive -animal and plant photos and videos. http://www.arkive.org/

Story Sites – (some with video stories and songs)
·        Oxford Owl  http://www.oxfordowl.co.uk
·        Peter Rabbit http://www.peterrabbit.com/uk
·        CBeebies     http://www.bbc.co.uk/cbeebies/stories/
·        BBC School Radio –audio and videos
·        Speakaboos   http://www.speakaboos.com/
·        British Council, Learn English Kids http://learnenglishkids.britishcouncil.org
·        International Children’s Digital Library http://en.childrenslibrary.org/
·        Children’s Storybooks Online  http://www.magickeys.com/books/
·        Storynory, Free Audio Books http://www.storynory.com/
·        MeeGenius  (go to “Start Reading Now” button)

      ·        Nancy Music http://www.nancymusic.com

·        Topmarks   http://www.topmarks.co.uk/
          Go to: Whiteboard Resources,choose area of learning,
          choose key Stage
·        Kent ICT: Games – Maths, Literacy, Make & Do
·        Learning Planet  http://www.learningplanet.com/
   ·        Purple Mash     http://www.purplemash.com
          games, themes, learning areas and more
   ·        Poisson Rouge  http://www.poissonrouge.com/   
Sites for running a “laptop session”
Don’t worry, the children will help you and each other !!!!
·        Oxford Owl      http://www.oxfordowl.co.uk
  Great for guided reading sessions 
·        Espresso         Desk Top 
·        Learning Planet  http://www.learningplanet.com/
·        Poisson Rouge    http://www.poissonrouge.com/
·        Purple Mash      http://www.purplemash.com
         games, themes, learning areas and more

No comments: